Home > Behavioural Economics > New Zealand Well-Being

New Zealand Well-Being

Although a few years old, this graph from The Economist does highlight New Zealand as a country which has one of the highest levels of well-being but a low level of GDP per person to go with. The trend line shows that the higher the GDP per person the better the level of well-being. Ultimately the challenge for politicians is to try and get their country to the top left of the graph – i.e. higher well being for less GDP per person.

NZ Well-being

  1. May 14, 2014 at 3:57 pm

    I see that the OECD’s Better Life Index is calculated based on a number of different subindices and overall I think it is a good way to present an ‘average’ state. The only problem is I am not so sure this index as a whole explicitly addresses well is income inequality? Perhaps that would be a nice subindex to have. I’m a scientist, not an economist to please excuse any ignorance on this! I am just thinking about it….

  2. May 14, 2014 at 4:02 pm

    I see that the OECD Better Life Index is made up of a bunch of subindices. I was just thinking, one index it doesn’t include is income inequality (at least explicitly I suppose). I’m not sure if that would be useful to show? Please forgive any ignorance on my end. I’m a scientist, not an economist. “Dammit Jim, I’m a doctor, not an economist!”…or something like that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

