Home > Eco Comedy, Fiscal Policy > Merle Hazard and “The Fiscal Cliff”

Merle Hazard and “The Fiscal Cliff”

December 24, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Here is another classic from Merle Hazard – the Nashville country artist who sings about the world of finance. Here he sings about the Fiscal Cliff.

FISCAL CLIFF
by Merle Hazard

VERSE 1
It was a sunny day down in Washington. I took my Chevy out for a spin.
While I was stopped at a light, I saw some cars to my right, and then what happened
nearly did me in. 
House Speaker Boehner pulled his wheels next to Senator Reid’s, and then they got into an awful tiff.
So Boehner said “Let’s fight,” and Reid said “Yeah, you’re right.”
”Let’s have a drag race to the fiscal cliff!”

CHORUS 1
Fiscal cliff
The fiscal cliff is a danger zone.
It’s where grown men go when budgets are blown.
If our Senators cannot agree, they make
Massive cuts automatically.
When the budget talks have come to a halt,
People go there and they threaten default.
What will happen if we hit the fiscal cliff?

VERSE 2
It was a game of chicken; I was really scared. I didn’t want anyone to die. 
But Boehner revved it up, and said “Keep taxes low,” and Reid said
”No, we must keep spending high.” 
And then it finally happened, what I always feared. And, yeah, 
it looked as bad as you would think. 
Our elected reps skidded out of control 
And drove their cars right over the brink.

CHORUS 2
Fiscal cliff
The fiscal cliff is a danger zone.
It’s where grown men go when budgets are blown.
When our Congressmen cannot agree,
Taxes go up automatically.
When the budget talks have come to a halt,
People go there and they threaten default.
What will happen if we hit the fiscal cliff?

VERSE 3
[Spoken]
Well, officer, my memory of that day has never gone away. I often find myself thinking, “What if?” And what I’ve realized is that if they’d only been wise enough to compromise, well…
[Sung]
They could have saved us from the fiscal cliff!

CHORUS 3
Fiscal cliff
Wah wah wah, wah wah wah wah wah…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

